Close Menu

Prospect of Higher Studies in USA during Covid-19

Speaker Profile

Prof. Muhammad Mustafa Hussain
Fellow of IEEE, Fellow of American Physical Society (APS), Institute of Physics, UK and Institute of Nanotechnology, UK.
About the Speaker: Mustafa (PhD, ECE, UT Austin, Dec 2005) is a Professor of Electrical Engineering (2009–present), KAUST and EECS, UC Berkeley (Fall 2020–onward). He received his BSc in EEE from BUET (2000). He was Program Manager in USA’s largest semiconductor research consortium SEMATECH (2008– 2009) and Process Integration Lead for 22 nm node FinFET CMOS in Texas Instruments (2006– 2008). His research is focused on heterogeneously integrated CMOS electronic systems for multi- disciplinary applications with more than $50M support from Boeing, Lockheed Martin, GSK-Novartis, McLaren, Siemens, ARAMCO, SABIC, Intel, IBM, Texas Instruments, Samsung, Panasonic, TSMC, UMC, HP and US Department of Defense. A portion of his PhD thesis was adopted by Intel Corporation in all their microprocessors since 2008. He has served as lead author/inventor of more than 350 journal/conference papers and US and international patents for which he has received 43 international awards including several IEEE Outstanding Achievement Awards and UT Austin Distinguished Young Alumni Award (2015). Recently his lab innovation Bluefin™ has received the Best of Innovation Award in the world’s largest consumer electronics show CES 2020. International media including Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, CNN, Fox News, MSNBC, Time, IEEE Spectrum, etc. have highlighted his research more than 500 times. Scientific American ranked his research as one of the top 3 world changing ideas of 2014. Applied Physics Letters have selected his papers as the Best Featured Article of 2015 and 2019. 16 of his PhD graduates are serving as faculty and researchers in MIT Media Lab, Stanford, UC Berkeley, Caltech, UCLA, UC Davis, EPMA, IIT, KAU, KFUPM, UJ, KFU, KKU, Intel Corporation, TSMC, SOITEC, Dow Chemicals and Saudi ARAMCO. He is a Fellow of IEEE, American Physical Society and Institute of Physics (UK).

Recorded Video